Department of European Studies (KES)

History of KES

In 1997 the Department of West European Studies was established at the Faculty of Social Sciences of Charles University. Two years later, it was awarded the prestigious Jean Monnet Center of Excellence in European Studies as the first academic institution in Central and Eastern Europe. The founder of the department, Professor Lenka Rovná, also received the Jean Monnet Chair Ad Personam title awarded by the European Commission to academics who contributed to the development of European Studies. On 1 September 2015, the Department changed the name to the Department of European Studies.

Head of the Department

Research and international cooperation

The department is a member of several international research networks and is one of the most successful workplaces in the Czech Republic in obtaining research projects with the European Union. Among the projects funded by the European Commission successfully implemented at the department include CONNEX, TEMPUS, INTER or EULEIT. The Department of European Studies is also part of the Euromasters postgraduate program, which is taught jointly at eight European and American universities and aims to develop students' prerequisites for careers in international institutions, diplomacy or research. The Department cooperates very closely with several foreign universities - Science Po, Sorbonne, Robert Schuman University of Strasbourg III, University of Cologne, University of Complutense of Madrid and University of Limerick.

Founder of the Department


Prof. PhDr. Lenka Rovná, CSc.

Jean Monnet Chair Ad Personam

Study programs

Within the IMS, the department participates in organizing a wide range of bachelor's and master's courses dealing with the history, political and legal system or social, economic and cultural development of Western European countries. There are also courses on the European Union, the history of its integration and the development of common policies. The Department has two Czech-language accredited Master's programs - West European Studies and European Studies. The department is also involved in the European Politics and Society (EPS) Master program and in the doctoral programs at the Institute of International Studies.

European Studies

Master of International Territorial Studies Specialization


Academic Supervisor: Prof. JUDr. PhDr. Ivo Šlosarčík, LL.M., Ph.D.

The Study Plan of the specialization can be found in Karolínka

West-European Studies

Master of International Territorial Studies Specialization

doc. Mgr. Tomáš Weiss, M.A., Ph.D.

Academic Supervisor: doc. Mgr. Tomáš Weiss, M.A., Ph.D.

The Study Plan of the specialization can be found in Karolínka

European Politics and Society (EPS)

Study program taught in English under the Consortium in cooperation with Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Leiden University and Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona.

More information on the website

The study plan can be found in Karolínka